Pattern Review: DIY Silk Tank from BurdaStyle

Oh my gosh I love this pattern! I’m so excited about completing this tank. I’ve been wanting to make this for some time now and I finally made the time to make it happen. I used fabric I had in my stash and it has such an awesome soft feel and great drape. The pattern is made with only two pattern pieces but you end up cutting four pieces for each. I totally recommend this pattern for any newbie learning to sew.

SAM_2579The fabric is a bit slippery but I really only had trouble cutting it (I probably need better scissors) and not really sewing. I used a stretch needle on the sewing machine hoping it would not cause any visible hole punctures and it worked great. The pattern requires stay tape for the neckline and I didn’t have any on hand so I used some Tricot fusible interfacing. Not sure if it won’t workout but for now, I’m just so happy the tank came out awesome. Now I need to make a skirt that will go with it. I will be looking through my pattern collection and see what I find.

Pattern Description: Silk Tank 07/2013 #103B from BurdaStyle

Pattern Size: I used size 42 and made not alterations to the pattern.

Fabric: Mauve Stretch Charmeuse, about 1.75 yards, I purchased it from OnlineFabricStore.net. They have a good amount of color selection.

Repeat: I will be making this again. I really want one in a shimmering gold color and another in a print lighter weight fabric.

SAM_2578

SAM_2573Is there a pattern you would love to make is all kinds of colors? I think this is a good pick for me. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment