My First Watson Bra: Pattern Review

clothhabit watsonIt’s been two weeks since my last post and it’s crazy how time just fly’s by where I actually didn’t notice. I’ve actually been working on a few sewing projects and I wish they were done by now but I can’t stress about it too much. I will do my best to get this projects done as soon as possible and share the awesome sewing experience. For now I have to share this awesome bra pattern. I finally finished my first Watson Bra and here I am sharing my experience for this awesome pattern. I’ve been following many sewing bloggers who have also sewed this bra pattern and I agree with them when they said this is a great beginner bra pattern to try or even if you are not a beginner in bra making, this bra is a must have. What I love the most is the longline style which is mainly why I purchased this pattern. I’ve been wanting a longline for a while and I’m really glad I sewed my own.

SAM_2632

The instructions on the pattern are very detailed with helpful images. I followed the instructions but I also went ahead of myself and did not notice the stitch recommendation for the waistband. My next one will probably have better stitching in the waistband. I ended up using a regular zigzag stitch instead of a three-step zigzag and I wish I would have noticed. Oh well, this is my first one and I’m still pleased with the results. Surprisingly, that is the only mistake I made so I kinda feel proud of myself for not making more (Lol!). Anyway, I can’t really say I had any difficulty putting the pieces together except for the hook and eye. I changed my presser foot from regular to a zipper foot hoping it would be easier to sew close to the edge but instead the zipper foot pushed the hook and eye a bit too far off so I had to use my seam ripper. Now that was hard but I kept patient and got it done.

Pattern Description: Cloth Habit Watson Lingerie Set, comes in sizes 30B-30I to 40A-40D

Fabric: I used a lace powernet from Spandex World (which unfortunately seems like they do not carry it anymore) for the cups, cradle and back band and lined the cradle with Tricot from Fabric.com.

Notions: The elastics, hook and eye, and the rings and sliders I purchased from Porcelynne’s Fabric Boutique etsy shop.

Repeat: I definitely will be making this bra again. I hope to make the matching bikini in the very near future (maybe when I need a break from bramaking, if that could actually happen, lol!)

SAM_2645

SAM_2638

SAM_2639

SAM_2643

SAM_2647

SAM_2658

I hope to encourage bramaking to anyone willing to sew and if you do, I recommend starting with this pattern. I need to make-up for the bra-making challenge because I did miss a week so I should be making two more in the next couple of days. What do you think? Willing to try?

 

 

2 thoughts on “My First Watson Bra: Pattern Review

    • The Watson Lingerie pattern is a pdf file that you will print after you purchase it so you can print it on any paper you prefer. I printed the pattern on regular white paper but you could print on cardstock paper so it’s not so flimsy when you need it to stay firm.

      Like

Leave a Reply

