Pattern Review: Girls Poncho Simplicity 1263

Simplicity1263 I’ve been wanting to make a poncho for my girls for a while now. My first encounter to a poncho sewing pattern was at some point in the summer so I was not all ready to make one yet but I wish I would have because then my girls would have had one ready for this cold weather. It doesn’t matter when I had it done, what does matter is that I finally made one and finished it in less than a day. This pattern is an easy-to-sew pattern and it’s true. I would recommend it to a beginner sewer and anyone who needs to make quick gifts for little girls.

I am planning to make these poncho’s for 4 little girls as their Christmas present. I will challenge myself to have all four done within two days and no later. I have so many gifts to make, plus I want to make myself a dress for Christmas. I have so much to do but I really only have 3 days a week to really dedicate time to making these gifts. We’ll see what happens. As far as this pattern goes, the instructions were clear and easy to understand and the images showing the steps are really helpful. I recommend to always read your pattern instructions before you start sewing so you have a clear understanding of what the pattern instructions are asking you to do.

Here are some details:

Pattern: Simplicity 1263, View A (I purchased this pattern at Joann Fabrics when it was on sale).

Fabric: The pattern recommends double faced fleece or fleece, I used Blizzard fleece from Joann Fabrics. 1 yard of the main fabric and 1/2 a yard for the ruffle. The pattern also recommends three 1″ buttons and 7/8 yard of 5/8″ wide fold-over elastic. I did not have 5/8″ wide so I used what I had which is 1″ wide. I think it still worked out fine.

Difficulty Level: Easy (Great for beginner)

Adjustments: None, fits great as is. I used the small size for my 2-year-old. It’s a little loose but I think it fits her great for at least this year.

Would I make this again? Yes, will be making another for my little girl and 4 others for Christmas gifts. My due date is for next Sunday, December 7, 2014 (or at least I hope).

SAM_2517

SAM_2520SAM_2525

I had some trouble getting photos for the finished girls poncho, my little girl did not want to take pictures. Then she became instantly happy when my older daughter gave her the phone to play with. May not be the best pictures but I’m still happy with the outcome.

SAM_2528 SAM_2530

SAM_2531 SAM_2532

Overall, I feel that my sewing performance for this project is an A-. I did make a mistake by using a wider fold-over elastic but I’m still very happy with the results. What would you grade me or better yet, any suggestions on how to improve? Let me know if you would consider making this poncho for any little girl in your life.

 

One thought on “Pattern Review: Girls Poncho Simplicity 1263

  1. I made this poncho and was very unhappy with the fit in the shoulder area. It did not rest on the shoulders, but stood up straight to her ears. The opening in the front started just below her chin – it looked ridiculous. Besides, it was way too short for any usefulness. Terrible design, fit, total waste of time and money.

    Like

Leave a Reply

